Uncategorized

S.O.S! New with a monster child

Hello out there.

So, I thought it would be a good idea to have some place online (we all know the only safe place at home is the toilet) where I can share my ups and downs with people who might also be going through the same thing. Hopefully share the same issues and giggles, stop me from bottling things up; if only feelings were as easy to pour out as wine!

I guess I should tell a little bit about me, I’m a working mum, too close to 30 for comfort. I like chocolate, wine, hotbaths and sunshine. Self diagnosed with depression…ooh bombshell! Maybe I’ll talk about that more later.

So onto the monster child…

My terror is 22 months old, a right Jekyl and Hyde character. At the moment we are suffering with ‘no nap after lunch’ syndrome. Symptoms include turning into the Taz of Tazmania with a Kevin (& Perry) style attitude, and the clumsiness of someone who’s been downing bottles of wine since 9am (wine might be a common factor in every blog!), all whilst groaning ‘ooooooowwwww’ on a constant loop. Luckily he hasn’t figured out he could climb out of his cot if he wanted too, so if my conscious is feeling strong willed we practice forced naps. Yep I camp outside baby jail, and celebrate with an air fist pump when all goes quiet (swiftly followed by a hot cuppa and geordie shore on catch up!).

Any advice on surviving this daily struggle would be accepted.

So there’s my first post. A little bit about me and the monster, and a request for help.

I better unlock the toilet door and go do some mum stuff…1 hour count down till monsters bedtime, yay!

image

Writing Bubble
12 thoughts on “S.O.S! New with a monster child

  1. Lovely first post. And entertaining blog! Can’t wait to read more bout Monster Child’s antics lol.

    Reg the daily ‘struggle’… find what works as a comfort zone for you’ll and take each phase as it comes. There are downs n struggles, but I’m sure u agree it’s all so so worth it 🙂 these monsters are our everything😊

    And don’t stress too much… EVERYTHING is a phase.

    And keep blogging!

    Nicole
    https://talesfrommamaville.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. I’m also close to 30 and my daughter is 19 months. So far she’s keeping away from these kind of antics, but I know that won’t last forever. Good luck with the napping issue!

    Like

  3. Hi there! I just found you and will follow! Even someone like me, a behavioral pediatrician and mom of two, have those moments! Parenting is not easy…and never goes by “the book”. Take it a day at a time and remember that kids will give you lots of chances to try again. It is just how it goes. 🙂

    Like

  4. Ha, so many familiarities! My 17-and-a-half-month-old has fallen into a pretty regular pattern at nursery of sleeping straight after lunch for an-hour-and-a-half to two hours. So yesterday was my day off with him and I was determined to try and match his usual timings to keep things as easy for him as possible, and enjoy a little nap with him after our early lunch, before a fun excursion in the afternoon.

    (While he happily takes himself over to a cushion at nursery for this long nap without any instigation, at home I could probably count on the fingers of one hand the number of times he has willingly submitted to a nap by himself, but hey I could use the sleep so will skip the fight and just curl up with him on the futon that is currently flat out in his room for us to use to try and avoid him sleeping in our bed.)

    Of course he had other ideas. He fought the idea of a nap with every bone in his body. I ended up lying on the futon feeling progressively more tired and depressed while he bounced around the room, bringing me books (which I read with him) and toys, every now and then teasing me by lying still for just a moment, before wriggling away and finding something new to menace. After an hour and a half of this I took him out in the car. He was asleep before we’d driven a mile. I drove him for quarter of an hour (just to be sure!), carried him upstairs and drowsed beside him for the next 40 minutes. We eventually got out on our trip, but with far less time than I’d hoped, and of course he complained loudly when I scooped him up from his adventures to take him back to the car (but bounced along happily in the carrier on my back after I had secured it, just screeching for long enough to elicit offers of help from some passers by. Nice. 🙂

    Ahhh toddlers… Good job they make you giggle, and your heart swell, too!

    Like

  5. You will be in good company of wine is your common theme! Re nap times, well I have 4 children (of varying ages) and each one has had different quirks and each one has found a different ‘button’ in me to press! No answers except roll with the tantrums and keep wine permanently in the fridge!

    Keep on blogging too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your photo is priceless – scary and cute! My two used to nap after lunch which was a godsend. I remember with my son that sometimes I would take him out for a walk in the buggy (weather permitting) to get him off to sleep if he wasn’t cooperating! I’m a newbie too, I started blogging in Feb #whatimwriting

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Haha! I’d like to say I remember this, but to be honest it’s all a total blur! Couldn’t possibly offer any advice, except that you *will* get through it, and very soon after that, you won’t remember anything about it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yay for forced naps! My littlest is past this stage well and truly now though, so she watches Peppa or Ben and Holly after lunch instead;-). Re depression; I’m with you there and writing online is a great place to have an outlet to be you. #Whatimwriting xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hello- nice to meet you! I remember well when they first start dropping naps – with my eldest two they were around 22 months too. Thankfully no.3 kept going till 2 1/2 but still, I looked at friends whose kids napped till aged 4 in wonder and barely-disguised jealousy! You just get adept at doing things quickly and also while they’re distracted with cars/lego/peppa pig! Thanks for linking to #whatImWriting

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

