Uncategorized

A day without meds.

Two days I’ve not had my antidepressants for now, my own fault. Turned up at the chemist to pick up the tablets and they had shut for the bank holiday. Now I’m stewing in misery.

A lot of people write about being on antidepressants, but they can have such a quick reaction to missing just one tablet; I’ve not found much about it.

Within two days I’m thrown back into the very beginning. The misery and the numbness. The tiredness and desire to sleep the day away. The irritation and lack of any patience for anything. My vision becomes dizzy if I’m still. I can’t be bothered to dress, care for my hair, my dog/cat/child/self. So frustrating and instant.

I feel like I’m in monotone slow motion and probably shouldn’t have driven the car to the supermarket. But I had to get out the house. The end of the summer holidays and Sainsbury’s is not a great mix. So now we have rage and a moaning three year old (intent on making the world hearing him singing Moana) added to the depression pot. I can feel myself winding up and tighter, like an elastic band stretched to full capacity – ready to snap!

Lethargy overtook and there was no escaping my lead eyes. Beginning the child to play in one spot as my closed despite the fight I put up.

Depression is so full of grey areas. Everyone with depression will suffer it slightly differently, I wanted something to demonstrate the importance of continuing your medication to come out of my stupid mistake. I for one, am not willing to allow myself to accidentally not pick up my tablets in time. It’s a stark and horrible reminded of how I lived only 6 months ago! And boy! Am I glad I’m out of that.

Thankfully within 12 hours of taking my medication I’m starting to feel the shackles releasing and geeze do I need a good nights rest. 💤

Leave a comment